Conservation Areas

Representing 25% of the national territory, the conservation areas ensure the balance in the ecosystems, essential for the development of ecotourism in Mozambique. Among the great attractions, highlight goes to the Gorongosa mountains, the Libombons mountain range, the Bazaruto and Quirimbas Archipelagos, the Chimanimani Massif, and yet 5.500 plant species, 220 mammal species and 690 bird species, some of which, endemic.

This excellent diversity inspired the Mozambican State to create the National Conservation Areas System, in order to promote the regional cooperation for management and sustainable use of the natural resources in areas of high ecologic value that can be the tomorrow of Mozambique.

Learn more about the Parks, Reserves and Transfrontier Areas from the National System for the Conservation Areas. You are one click away.

National Park

  • Maputo
  • Banhine
  • Bazaruto
  • Chimanimani
  • Gilé
  • Gorongosa
  • Limpopo
  • Mágoè
  • Quirimbas
  • Zinave

National Reserve

    • Marromeu
    • Pomene

Special Reserve

  • Niassa Special Reserve

Transfrontier Area

      • Grande Limpopo
      • Lubombo
      • Niassa-Selous
      • Zimoza